AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Anticipation

So excited to be starting my first MOOC through Coursera: E-Learning and Digital Cultures with the University of Edinburgh (Jan. 28, 2013)

I’ve signed up for all the platforms we’ll be using and found it interesting to discover the diverse group of people interested in this course here:

https://plus.google.com/104505101854214069712/posts/BFoJ1rRnXtA

So far I seem to be the only one in Hawaii, as this handy map indicates.

The primary instructor is Jeremy Knox, who, by his website/blog, looks intriguing! http://jeremyknox.net/ I could spend all day on there – plus the fonts are to die for!

I’ve included a feature image of one of my favorite characters in literature and film : HAL from 2001: A Space Odyssey, which is highlighted in the promo video for the course. Overall I think this course will add to my Theory of Knowledge curriculum, as we deal quite a bit with how knowledge (and learning) is affected by technology. I’m hoping I’ll be a mini McLuhan in the months to follow, and am a tad nervous about keeping up with an already full plate – but there’s always room for dessert, if you are passionate enough!

5 comments on “Anticipation

  1. Mr WordPress
    November 25, 2012

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. edwoodworth
    December 20, 2012

    I’m looking forward to this course, too. Just found your history teachers channel on youtube (I’m an English prof.). Been watching for the last hour–just fantastic. Favorite: Canterbury Tales. Such fun. If I’d had history lessons like these, I would have finished my history degree and been a history teacher today! Looking forward to learning through this MOOC.

    • amyburvall
      January 9, 2013

      Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed them. Canterbury is one of my favs as well. I’m looking forward to it as, though I just signe dup for another running at the same time!

  3. epurser
    December 21, 2012

    oh yeah! it’s going to be so much fun – I’ve really enjoyed watching your videos too Amy – which video editing software do do you(s) use? I’m just learning photoshop premier and feeling inspired, thanks to you 🙂 great stuff

  4. amyburvall
    January 9, 2013

    thanks and Happy New Year! We use Adobe Premiere..go for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in edcmooc and tagged , , , .

Navigation

fuchsia blue

learning development change

Learning Freewheel

Redefining Learning Experiences

EdgeMaking Riffs

My personal woodshed for new ideas

thescriptedtangent

I beg to differ

Novel Alliances

Allied Perspectives on Literature, Art, and New Media

Personal Knowledge Mastery

seek > sense > share

Becoming An Educationalist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Marian Sanabria

E-Learning and Digital Cultures

leahford

IB Theory of Knowledge

TIC TOK

It's time to think

Autopsy of TOK

Interested? Keep Scrolling

Life of Nate

The Supper Awesome Life of NTG

~Ariel the Mermaid~

A fine WordPress.com site

vitor's theories

My knowledge of the theories.

Kyle Maxwell TOK

Kyle Maxwell TOK

Inside Mski's Head

What is knowledge

TOK: Tyler On Knowledge

Life is like a taco. Embrace it.

Joey's Crib

Pretty sweet.

